Inside the depths of my mind

Opinion

Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night, and run to find a pen and paper.

Ideas come to me at the weirdest times. I’ll be sleeping, or in the middle of class, or even in the shower (which, by the way, my very worst attempt at writing ever happened to be about). I’ll get the next story I want to write, or the perfect book idea. I have to stop what I’m doing, drop everything, and roll out the ideas of what just went through my mind.

Being a writer comes in different shapes and sizes. There’s the basic journalist, which is someone who reports things that are going on. Then there’s the super journalist, those who are always adding multimedia, photos, and the latest trends to their work. We have quite a few of those on our staff ourselves.

As I’ve slowly been transitioning to business, i’ve come to realize that I’m going to miss writing something that means a lot to me every month. I’ve always liked being able to share my opinions, even if it was indirectly. AP pressures? I’ve experienced it myself. I think other kids should know. Comfort foods? I’m not all about those, but I know quite a few people who are. Chess? It’s a mental sport. However, it’s not about the destination but the path that takes you there.

The other half of the writing spectrum is the people like me. I love crafting characters in my mind, even thought they may or may not be actually made into anything. One of my favorite characters still lives in my mind, but the odds of them making it to print is slim to none. It’s just how it happens.

There’s always going to be the people who write, then take the next step of publishing their work. And there’s the people who put too much time and thought into everything that they over complicate it too much that it ends up just becoming a really really bad fan fiction. I fall into another category, known as the people who write the story in their head, but never actually write it on paper. I’m not saying that its a problem with the writing itself, its the issue of taking something and putting it into words.

I’ve come to the fact that unless I somehow get out of my writer’s block, I’ll always be on page 126 of my so called ‘book’ I’ve been writing since 8th grade. As I go back and re-re-re-re-read the beginning- which I have doomed to be a uniquely long introduction- it slowly gets worse each time I read it. I really want to change it, but I can’t seem to get the characters out of my mind and onto the paper. Which is why I’m a culprit for writing a lot of great things that never actually happen.

What I love about journalism that if it is something great, it’ll show up right away. The path is either lit up from the start, or you need to do everything you possibly can to get back on the track. With creative writing, sometimes you take the longest path to find a dead end. In journalism you can see what you need to do, and it’s very black and white; but with little splashes of color hidden so only the people that want to see it can. I can take any news article and read it, and that’s all I can get. Or I can read it and see the tiny parts of the author that they throw in there. The kind of things that you have to have a trained eye to see. I like that.

I might not always be a journalist, but I’ll always be a writer.

And I think that either way, anything I write will always have a dash of me inside of it-waiting to be released at 2am when I figure out my next story to sit for six months, inside the depths of my mind.

Leave a Reply

