Too little time

Opinion

pyramid

School. Band. Homework. Sleep. Repeat.

Everyday, I do the same thing over and over on a continuous cycle. Sometimes–if I’m lucky–I can break this pattern and go out to eat, or I get home an hour early. It’s a blessing.

One thing I know for sure: marching band will grab you and never let you go.  It’s a lifestyle, and you have to be dedicated to enjoy it. We work together, breathe together, eat together.

I love band, but the only problem is that I’m stuck in this continuous cycle of not getting enough sleep, staying up to hours that would even make bats scared, and having to ignore my friends at school because I’m a human zombie. Honestly, it makes me kind of sad. I’d like to get at least 5 hours of sleep without having to worry if I’m going to fail my English test the next morning.

A really good band friend of mine thought of a brilliant idea– go to sleep at 11pm, then wake up at 4am and finish homework. I tried it once, and ended up falling back asleep. Kudos to her, as I would love to be able to do that myself. Either way, going to bed at 1am and waking up at 6am still results in the same amount of sleep.

I think that band kids get the worst of being sleep deprived. Nearing the end of our season, we practice every day this week. And next week, until we leave for nationals on Wednesday.

Last weekend, we went to Atlanta for Super Regionals and placed second. With this being said, the band didn’t have that much down time to do homework. I talked to my teachers before I left, and they gave me the work we did on Friday, and the weekend’s homework.

SHOUTOUT TO THOSE TEACHERS WHO DON’T ASSIGN A TON OF HOMEWORK ON THE WEEKEND.

You rock.

From us band kids, we say thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

